Nature Close Up

Nature is often viewed as majestic views or at least the large scene we see in front of us. Stopping and looking closer at the scene will most times yield an equally majestic or interesting view.

Since I was a child I always looked closer at nature. Years later as an agricultural research field technician I sharpened my observation skills. I learned to look even further into the natural world. In doing so I developed a deeper appreciation for nature.

Often while hiking out in nature it is easy to get caught up in the scenery before our eyes. It should become a common practice to stop once in a while not just to rest but also to observe. Look up, look down, and look closer at everything around you. Carry a magnifying glass with you to be able to look even closer. When I was in ag research it was necessary to carry one. I still carry one 10 years into retirement. I must admit I carry it mostly to read labels at the grocery store these days. Also, if you do photography learn how to do close ups.

The following images were taken many years ago using a now ancient 35mm camera with special lens attachments for taking extreme close ups. I learned the technique from the book, Field Photography, by Alfred Blaker. He also wrote one on lab photography. It is all about setting up the old 35mm cameras to do the work.

Recently I had many of my 35mm kodachrome slides digitized. Presented here are 3 of the close ups. Eventually you will get to see not only more close ups, but also scenery shots in this blog and in future books.

Thank you for respecting my copyright on all my photos and also other bloggers photos.

Orange Dog Caterpillar

The caterpillar is on a citrus leaf that it likes to eat. It is unusual for the red antennae to be showing. They are usually retracted. This was in South Florida.

Carpenter Ant

This carpenter ant was around a coconut palm in South Florida.

Planthopper, Myndus crudus
©2012 Jimmy DeFilippis

This planthopper likes to feed on coconut palm leaflets which it is doing in the photo. It is only 5mm in length. It required a 3x telephoto extender and extension tubes placed between a 50mm lens and the camera. It was a lot of work to hold the camera steady even with using a flash unit.

It’s wonderful to see things otherwise hidden in nature. Peace, Naturebeing

2 Comments

  1. Malou

    Lovely macros of these amazing creatures! 😉

  2. Thank you Malou.

Leave a Reply

